August 04, 2015

What You Need to Know About ICD-10

Claims Management
, Cost Containment
, Legislation

UPDATE: Read how CorVel is moving forward with ICD-10: Business as Usual.

In less than two months, healthcare systems across the country will move to the International Classification of Diseases, 10th revision (ICD-10).

According to Medicaid’s website, ICD-10 diagnosis codes vary from ICD-9 codes in the following ways:

  • The code has been expanded from five positions to seven positions, allowing for a significant increase in the specificity of the reporting – more information can be conveyed in a code.
  • There are 68,000 existing codes, as opposed to the 13,000 in ICD-9.
  • Terminology has been modernized and made consistent throughout the code set.
  • Codes can be a combination of diagnoses and symptoms, so that fewer codes need to be reported to fully describe a condition.

What You Need to Know About ICD-10

  • All claims with dates of service of October 1, 2015 or later must be submitted with a valid ICD-10 code.
  • ICD-9 codes will no longer be accepted for these dates of service.

ICD-10 Resources